SPD Foundation

Support the SPD Foundation

Enhancing SPD's Educational, Research & Training Programs

Since the Society for Pediatric Dermatology’s (SPD) inception in 1975, the association has worked to establish a strong professional network, facilitate research in the field and develop resources for pediatric dermatologists throughout the world. SPD has now established a Foundation specifically to ensure continued funding for these important activities -- we want your support!

The SPD Foundation’s mission is to foster and enhance SPD’s education, research and training programs as well as fund new development and opportunities in these areas. It provides a mechanism by which individual members can give back to the Society and support the next generation of pediatric dermatologists so that they may fully realize their professional goals.

Did you know that, over the past decade, SPD has provided over $450,000 in research grants, awards, fellowships to pediatric dermatologists in the early stages of their career?

Members can provide a general donation or designate their support for a specific program, initiative or award, such as:

  • Team Pilot Project Research Grants
  • Weston Career Development Award
  • Pediatric Dermatology Research Alliance (PeDRA)
  • Mentorship Grants
  • Pediatric Dermatology Fellowships
  • Developing Country Awards
  • Resident/Fellow Research Awards
  • Travel Awards for Young Pediatric Dermatologists

You may also donate to honor the memory of a colleague or leader in our field, or as part of individual estate or tax planning. Donations are 100% tax deductible (US residents only).

We appreciate any support that you can provide! Click here to donate now.

Donations can also be made by check and sent to the following address:

Society for Pediatric Dermatology
8365 Keystone Crossing, Suite 107
Indianapolis, IN 46240
(Tax ID #51-0188954)

Foundation Committee:
Anita Haggstrom, MD, Indiana University, Chair
Maria Garzon, MD, Columbia University
Sharon Glick, MD, SUNY Downstate Medical Center
Adelaide Hebert, MD, Univ. of Texas - Houston
Gail Kleman, MD, Billings Clinic
Lawrence Schachner, MD, University of Miami
Robert Sidbury, MD, MPH, Seattle Children's Hospital
Albert Yan, MD, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia


Gifts made January – July 2017

Ilona Frieden, MD, UCSF
The Jakubik Family
Andrew Margileth, MD, University of Miami
Robert Silverman, MD, Georgetown University Dept. Pediatrics
Virginia Sybert, MD, University of Washington/Group Health

PLATINUM ($500-999)
Howard Pride, MD, Geisinger Medical Center
Helen Shin, MD, Hackensack Meridan Health
Robert Sidbury, MD, MPH, Seattle Children's Hospital
Brook Tlougan, MD, Westmed/Columbia University

GOLD ($250-499)
Susan Boiko, MD, Rady Children's San Diego and Kaiser Permanente
Jennifer Huang, MD, Boston Children's Hospital
Kimberly Morel, MD, Columbia University
Sharon Raimer, MD, University of Texas Galveston
Lawrence Schachner, MD, University of Miami
Joyce Teng, MD, PhD, Stanford University Medical Center/Lucille Packard Children’s Hospital, Stanford

SILVER ($100-249)
Emily Altman, MD, Summit Medical Group
Israel Andrews, MD, Phoenix Children's Hospital: Department of Pediatric Dermatology
Esteban Fernandez Faith, MD, Nationwide Children's Hospital
Anita Haggstrom, MD, Indiana University
Brett Kopelan, Debra of America
Leonard Kristal, MD, SUNY Stony Brook
Danielle Marcoux, MD, FRCP (C), CHU Sainte-Justine/ University of Montreal
Crystal Pourciau, MD, MPH, Baylor College of Medicine/Texas Children's Hospital
Richard Storm, MD
John Su, MD, MCRI, University of Melbourne / Monash University
Teresa Wright, MD, LeBonheur Children’s Hospital

BRONZE (up to $99)
Emily Becker, MD, Texas Dermatology and Laser Specialists
Gursharan Kaur Bedi, MD, MRCP, Salford Royal Foundation Trust NHS UK
Anna Belloni Fortina, MD, Azienda Ospedaliera-Universita di Padova
Maria del Carmen Boente, MD, Hospital Del Nino Jesus
Melissa Burnett, MD, Newton Wellesley Hospital
Elizabeth Connelly, MD, Connelly Dermatology
Ronald Cotliar, MD, UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine
David Dasher, MD
Kevin Donohue, MD, Kuchnir Dermatology
Carola Duran-McKinster, MD
Mercedes E. Gonzalez, MD, Pediatric Dermatology of Miami
Elena Hawryluk, MD, PhD, Harvard Medical School
Robert Hayman, MD, SUNY-Stony Brook
Sadaf Hussain, MD, Boston Children's Hospital/Harvard Medical School
Brandi Kenner-Bell, MD, Ann and Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago
Hillary Lawrence, MD, Spectrum Dermatology
Minnelly Luu, MD, USC/CHLA
Matthew Mahoney, MD, NOVA Southeastern/Largo Medical Center
Anubhav Mathur, MD, PhD, University of California, San Francisco
Maria Miyar, MD, Kaiser Permanente
Tamika Morris
Arti Nanda, MD, As’ad Al-Hamad Dermatology Center
Monica Novoa, MD, Hospital San Jose
David Orchard, MD, Royal Children's Hospital
Carlos Paguio, MD, National Children's Hospital The Ateneo Medical School and Public Health
Janice L. Pelletier, MD, E. Maine Med Ctr
Wingfield Rehmus, MD, BC Children's Hospital
Jessica Simon, MD, Windsor Dermatology
James Treat, MD, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
Julie Wesley, MBBS FACD, Australasian College of Dermatologists